Tags

, , ,

Photo from Grammarly! https://www.facebook.com/grammarly/photos_stream

One of my favorite photos from Grammarly! https://www.facebook.com/grammarly/photos_stream

If I want views for my blog I am going to put the word “shaming” in the title so people will read it. It shows a sense of blame. It shows two opposing sides. It tells a good story. But most importantly, it is the trendiest and most controversial phrase we have right now, even if the contents of our articles don’t make sense.

We’ve all heard of body shaming on a constant basis for a while now, and the word does have many faces. I’d like to think it started with dog shaming, because I like those better than people sometimes. This morning I found it changed to “grammar shaming”, and I was like “seriously” (which is most often spelled Siriusly”, if we’re being realistic). It’s gone far, but maybe not too far yet. I can’t wait to see with what other shaming terms they’ll create out there.

The article I saw about shaming was talking about how one should stop correcting others’ grammar because of cognitive deficits that make it okay and normal, and people aren’t sloppy, they’re cognitively deficient, and it will hurt their feelings to be corrected.

I don’t agree. While my divergent thinking and creativity are off the charts, and my spatial abilities are lacking, and my cognitive abilities and learning processes are normal. If I can do it, you probably can too. Some people might be wired like my spatial intelligence and struggle at grammar and spelling, however, that isn’t the majority of people. What the article brings us is people who are making excuses not to improve upon the contents of their communication.

Here is how you write a good blog article for human consumption:

  1. Trendy headline
  2. Pop-culture reference
  3. SCIENCE (citing an article)
  4. Coddling people into thinking they’re right and never need to take criticism from anyone.

I did some of those things for my imperfect blog entry, but I didn’t quote science, because this whole thing about people being stagnant and afraid to learn about their native language and appear intelligent is unintelligent, and is an issue of common sense and real world knowledge. If you want it, take my B.A. in English and Psychology, but don’t call me an expert. We’re all experts if we have common sense on this issue of sloppy writing.

The antagonist to these people, Websites that “shame” people for improper grammar also point out how strange English is, and essentially take the time to shame English as well. It’s difficult and strange, and even if you think you spelled a word right, it might not be. I share Grammarly’s posts all the time, and you know what? Grammarly is not a real word.

The other day when I was getting a veggie sub at Subway, they had a sign that said : “ please do not use your phone durring ordering 🙂 ”. I politely let them know during was spelled wrong by saying “I know you can’t see my side of the counter to read it, I just wanted to make sure you knew there is an extra ‘r’ in ‘during’, because you probably won’t catch it on that side.”

If you’re a business,  then don’t you want to present yourself professionally? An in life as a pedestrian when so much is written, don’t you want to show the world you can grow and aren’t shamed by your mistakes, as you understand they are changeable?

Subway changed their sign without bitching.

You can stand to proofread, and if you’re wrong, don’t be offended when someone corrects you, and learn to take some criticism.

Article in reference link: http://trove.com/a/Stop-shaming-people-on-the-Internet-for-grammar-mistakes-Its-not-there-fault.UCxKI?chid=175147&utm_source=editorial&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=srfan

