Tags

, ,

Abstracted Abstract: Romarin takes a Numerology class, and asks “can your name really predict your destiny and your future?” In this blog, Romarin compares Numerology with The Big Five Personality traits. 

Marquee Nine. I saw these at a store on clearance once and wondered who puts them on display. If you have one, please let me know.

Marquee Nine. I saw these at a store on clearance once and wondered who puts them on display. If you have one, please let me know.

I am foremost open-minded, and secondly, a skeptic. You want to give me a statistic? Fine, but give me the abstract to the study. I’ll know who your sample population was and what you really measured, and then I’ll be happy. I wasn’t sure what to think about Numerology, an idea that suggests one’s birth name controls their destiny, and perhaps with good reason, because I’m not sure what to count as my birth name.

At the hospital where I was born, someone put an “o” in my name where there should have been an “a” and my mother promptly changed the birth certificate. Spoiler alert: my name isn’t Romarin, it’s my pen name, and perhaps if you stick around long enough, you might figure out what my legal name is. According to Numerology, and Pythagorean numerology (the kind followers of Pythagoras set up) each letter corresponds to a number, and you add them up. You add them up so you have one number, so if you have 15, you add them together to get a single number 6. Some numbers (11, 22,33) do not reduce in the name. When your name changes, so does your destiny. I’ll share my name results as well as my birth month, day, and year, added up and reduced.

My birthday was a 9. The nurse who didn’t know Greek got me a 9. The name my parents called me won a 4. My husband changed me to a 1.   In knowing these calculations, there was one thing left to do…

COMPARE THEM WITH SCIENCE!

Here are my freaky eccentricly outlierish personality trait results:

Openess: 4.9

Conscientiousness 4.7

Extroversion 3.8

Agreeableness 4.6

Neuroticism 1.9

  • Openness indicates how willing we are to explore new ideas and ways of doing things. (1 is low, 5 is high)
  • Conscientiousness indicates how well we plan and exhibit self-control. (1 is low, 5 is high)
  • Extroversion indicates our desire for stimulation. (1 is introverted, 6 is extroverted)
  • Agreeableness indicates how easily we get along with others. (1 is low, 5 is high)
  • Neuroticism indicates how we deal with negative emotions such as stress and anxiety. (1=  not so neurotic, 5= intense Neurotic reactions.)

*Results and traits are from the BBC’s Big Personality Test I completed in 2013. One is low, five is high.

I pulled the traits from the Numerology description and loosely compared them with my Big Five traits to see if they appeared in the same strength.

Numerology results:

1: Positive Characteristics: Individualistic and independent (Openness), showing leadership and drive (conscientiousness). The 1 is masculine, focused, an originator and self-starter (conscientiousness); it is also progressive, strong-willed, courageous, self-reliant and rebellious (conscientiousness and openness) (in a constructive way).

Negative Characteristics: 1s can be stubborn (consciousness), selfish, weak and undisciplined (opposite of consciousness), or a pariah.

4: Positive Characteristics: 4s are disciplined, strong, stable, pragmatic, down-to-earth, reliable, dependable, hard-working, extracting, precise, methodical, conscientious, frugal, devoted, patriotic and trustworthy ( conscientiousness and some agreeableness)!

Negative Characteristics: 4s pay for their stability and pragmatism by tending toward the boring side. This may express itself with a lack of imagination (opposite of openness), emotions, empathy (opposite of agreeableness). 4s may not bother to put much care into their appearance, and their social awkwardness (opposite of extroverted) can make them seem vulgar, crude or jealous.

9: Positive Characteristics: 9s are helpful, compassionate, aristocratic, sophisticated, charitable, generous, humanitarian, romantic, cooperative (agreeableness all the way), creative (openness), self-sufficient (consciousness), proud (extraverted) and self-sacrificing (agreeableness).

Negative Characteristics: 9s can end up being egocentric, arrogant, self-pitying, sentimental, discontent, fickle, cold or mentally unstable (neuroticism).

*Definitions taken from the Numerology.com, which is similar to the book we used “ Numerology by , but not exact.

About the information I just set up: The Big Five test is the pinnacle of personality research, and is even generalizable across cultures. I have loosely applied the characteristics to Numerology.com’s numbers. My highest traits are openness (which also correlates with creativity), consciousness (discipline, which also correlates with moral judgement), and agreeableness (which isn’t how gullible you are, but how you interact with others, and how Intune you are to their needs). If a number has those traits in high doses, we’re on to something. Also keep in mind that these copy and pasted definitions are not exact to the book we used, but they are close to what we heard in the class.

The opinion: With so many traits on extreme ends, won’t just about everything fit for me? If strong traits didn’t balance each other out (like conscientiousness and extroversion telling social norms to kick and help with that high openness trait that makes me rebellious), I’d be in plenty of trouble, and that’s why we thank my neuroticism score for being so low. Also, wouldn’t I run the risk of skewing these results as an outlier, if Numerology happens to be a real science? Overall, number 9 is the most accurate, and it depicts my 3 strongest personality traits. The 4, which was technically my second birth name (and the correct one by my parents) is accurate in that I’m a hard worker, but leaves no room for creativity, and its negative traits are way off compared to the statistical analysis of my personality.  For the 1 that is now my married name, it made me more self-reliant and independent (the opposite of sharing your life with someone who supports your ideas), but added more drive in the self-starter areas, which might be true, because if I have someone who believes in me, my motivation will increase. 1 is half true now that I am married, and its stubbornness as a negative trait is right on.

My opinion is that 9 is fairly accurate, however, after poking my nose somewhere it does not belong, I have discovered a special number, one that describes my eccentric personality (big projects, humanitarian, needs to change the world).

The number I think I really am: I know without a doubt I am a 22, a master number. I know what you’re thinking: Romarin, how can you stake claim to a master number and undermine everything Pythagoras (or his followers) studied for years to bring to us?!?

“The Master number 22 holds more power than any other number (earning it the nickname “the Master Builder”). It is a pragmatic number, a doer, capable of spinning wild dreams into concrete reality (openness mixed with conscientiousness, my two highest traits). Those who have 22 in their Numerology chart have great potential for success — that’s because it has all the intuition of the number 11, paired with a grounded and scientific approach associated with the number 4 (because 2 + 2 = 4). 22 is an ambitious but disciplined number.

The 22 represents lofty goals brought down to earth and made into something you can touch. It is a grandiose thinker with great confidence and leadership qualities. Unfortunately, not everyone with a 22 in their chart is practical — this is symbolized by the brilliant person you might know who doesn’t “live up to” their potential. This is the danger of both the 11 and 22 — though both are capable of greatness, they can shy away from great opportunities or apply too much pressure to themselves.”

According to my personality statistics, which say I am an outlier, I would be a 22. If I were a master number, I would most certainly say Numerology is tried and true. If anyone were a master number, setting out the study their purpose and find that it’s great, they would love Numerology to pieces and get a whole chart done, that goes as far as predicting the future.

Why aren’t you happy with 9, Romarin? 9 does have plenty of my traits, but not the wild ideas. Wild ideas really sum me up as a person. Also, 9’s negative traits do not fit (not until I claim to be a 22 and get a little egocentric).  9 is an agreeable number, but it only has one mark for openness (creative), and I should have a number that dominates with openness, like 22, not with my third highest trait of agreeableness, even though it’s unusually high.

My final verdict: while it was a fun class led by a knowledgeable instructor, I’m not 100% convinced as I have a strange personality (2% of the population are eccentrics). Keep in mind that I might be skewing these results as an eccentric. My birth year as a 9 was fairly accurate. My mistake birth name was fairly accurate as a 9. My fixed birth certificate name was not accurate at all as a 4. And my married name as a 1, contradicted itself.

My best advice is to have a professional read your results if you are into Numerology and be open to having fun with it. There is the suggestion that Numerology can predict the future, and that is very advanced.

The question we are left with is: who is Romarin Demetri?

Romarin Demetri is a 1, which I’d say is pretty accurate, and I know I wrote her to be independent, courageous, rebellious, and of course that negative trait: STUBBORN. That’s the kind of protagonist I want to read about!

Limitations of my loose study: Results from the actual class were taken from the book Numerology by Ruth Drayer. Results in this blog were taken from Numerology.com. They are similar, but please acknowledge slight differences. I do not go into detail of the Big Five Personality traits, so there is room for extra scrutinizing of individual words in Numerology definitions and how they pertain to the Big Five traits.

