Tags

, , , ,

When I first heard about NaNoWriMo, I thought it was Japanese, because I’m American and only speak one language fluently. I always like to tell on myself when I do something silly.

When I became a serioooooous writer this year after studying the ins and outs of Indieauthorhood for months, deciding that success is the only option, I was determined to give NaNoWriMo a go!

The goal is 50,000 words in a novel, and I split it up into two different books. My series was only going to be a trilogy, but after seeing how book one and book two were received by my readers, I wanted to write more for everyone! Because of this enthusiasm, I had pieces and parts places of both book 4 and 5.

During November I wrote 15,190 words in 4, bringing it to my first revision standard of 70,000, and 19,050 in book 5, more than doubling it.

I wrote 34,240 words!

During the last 45 mins, closing in on December, I wrote 2,000 words at the encouragement of my husband, who would not let me go to sleep until I reached my book average of 70,000 words. He was also watching a show on Netflix.

So why not more words? Simple, book one prep, and I don’t force myself to write if the words aren’t coming out.

Book One prep. I was also working on preparing book one and got my critique and professional edits back! It was so exciting, that I was still working on book one. I also built my sets for craft shows (more on how that has to do with my world later) and book signings, and getting my bookmarks made and over to the folks at Cleveland Concotion for March 2016!

Folks? I’m on my first cup of coffee only.

The shows where I will be handing out bookmarks are coming up soon, and I have a contest going in March and April to win a free book, so I need to space out the prep to have time to deal with any issues. When you see this, you will understand why it took so much time. Hehehe.

No force-writing. I’m a writer, so I love writing, but if the muse isn’t lurking, I’m not going to write shells of words down. I don’t like to force out words. I like to sit here and make facial expressions to explain my dialogue better, and if I am stuck I go to the place I’m writing about.

morepics

One of the places I went to gain inspiration! Alnwick Castle, Northumberland, UK.

Now I understand my capabilities, and my writing goals are now 20,000-25,000 words a month, to be able to keep my series going. I hope to be writing a second, related series in October of next year.

Congrats to all of the winners and participants of NaNoWriMo 2015!!

 

