Tags

, , , ,

I am borrowing the book, “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”, and the first sentence is, “I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary—“”

Yes. A New York Times Bestseller is using the biggest cliché in the paranormal world.  “This sucks”, I say ineloquently as a reader, “because I do want to read this book.”

If you missed my post on the ordinary/extraordinary cliché, here is my writer rant:

As a writer, I’m wondering how this slid past an editor. Oh my GOD, what if the editor added it?!?

Conspiracies aside, as both a reader and a writer, it looks like Mr. Ransom Riggs has so much promise. This is his first novel and he has written a bestseller. I don’t know why he would do this to himself, or the baby angels. It’s a shame, but I cannot take him seriously now, not unless you help me.

That is where you come in. Please convince me that a book with my number one pet peeve in all of writing is worth my time.

If none of you convince me, I’ll be just waiting for the movie, hoping that there is no first person narration.

Fingers crossed. Head shaking. Someone save the cherubs.

View the outcome here: https://romarindemetri.wordpress.com/2016/01/06/i-recommend-miss-peregrine-as-a-read/

