Tags

, , , ,

After my fit of author/reader rage, concerning the cliché of combining “ordinary” and extraordinary” into the same sentence, my friend Katie was able to convince me to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, even though it opened with the dreaded sentence. Unfortunately, the phrase showed up again at the end of the book, much like when one repeats a thesis in a research paper. I’m sure Riggs achieved good marks on all of his English essays. The recommendations and the fact that it was free (I’m borrowing it), helped me get through the most overused cliché in the paranormal world.

The peculiar part about the main character’s “ordinary” life, was that he wasn’t a normal kid. He is a rich kid who is the heir to a pharmaceutical company. I’m not sure what that was about. Maybe all children in Florida are heirs.

It picked up near page 100, and the only thing I did not care for after the cliché was that the main character seemed too worldly for a sixteen year old. He was very intelligent, but in a twentysomething kind of way. That is a small detail overall.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, and might enjoy it more when I read the rest of the series. I would recommend this book to others.  I say, get to page 100 and see if you are liking it. There were times I needed to get to the next chapter, and I appreciate that very much.

AND REALLY. Please hang up that word combination as a public service. You might write about peculiar children, you might write scripts for The Flash, you might be a blogger like Iris in The Flash who used the cliché in the script, but please hang it up.

Save the cherubs. Not even angel killers want to be angel killers.

savethecherubs

Other news:

Two months until my cover reveal for “A Mirror Among Shattered Glass.” I am so very excited!

book1coverreveal

Cover reveal: 3.6.16. Book release: 6.4.16

