Tags

, , , ,

If you know me, you’ll know I loved abnormal and personality psychology. I loved it as much as someone who drove 50 mins one way to get to school and sat in the front row could.

I took the Big Five personality test during school, and am obsessed with the BBC’s ongoing longitudinal research called Child of Our Time. I took the original quiz that measured by Openness , Conscientiousness , Extroversion , Agreeableness, and Neuroticism .  Turns out, all of my traits were unusually high (except my neuroticism was low), which meant that i was able to measure that I was different than most people for the first time in my life. As an eccentric who sometimes goes against the norm just to say she can, it made me realize that my path could be different than I planned, or unconventional. The Lab changed the quiz over the past few years to tell you where’d you be the happiest in GB, and that link is here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/guides/z3g487h.

While I love the OCEAN personality (The Big Five) test, and how generalizable it is to other cultures, I kept hearing about Meyers-Briggs and the letters, and decided to take it after Pinterest kept recommending me pins for INFJ (I think this is because of Yves) .

Yes, at home personality tests aren’t in a controlled environment, and might not be as accurate, but if you try to be as truthful as possible, your results should make sense.I took The 16 personalities test! The order of the letters determine your personality by your “Jungian preferences”.

There were four possible pairs of personality traits:

  • Introversion (I) or Extraversion (E)
  • Intuition (N) or Sensing (S)
  • Thinking (T) or Feeling (F)
  • Judging (J) or Perceiving (P)

I am…

The Commander  ENTJ

entj

ENTJs’ intelligence, strong will and logical reasoning skills are a force to be reckoned with. Be it a minor obstacle or a seemingly impossible task, ENTJs will find a way – or make one. This fearsome determination and intellect allow ENTJs to overcome many challenges.

ENTJs are natural-born leaders. People with this personality type embody the gifts of charisma and confidence, and project authority in a way that draws crowds together behind a common goal. But unlike their Feeling (F) counterpart, ENTJs are characterized by an often ruthless level of rationality, using their drive, determination and sharp minds to achieve whatever end they’ve set for themselves. Perhaps it is best that they make up only three percent of the population, lest they overwhelm the more timid and sensitive personality types that make up much of the rest of the world – but we have ENTJs to thank for many of the businesses and institutions we take for granted every day.

I agree with the results, but they do nothing to mention how empathetic and agreeable I am, and the result of ENTJ downplays the emotional intelligence I have (Ha, it sounds like an ENTJ to say that!).  According to the pairs, it would be possible for me to be an ENFJ as well, but the test decided I was more “thinking” (probably my ability to see the viewpoints of others) than “feeling”, and I have more of a need to do the right thing than make people feel better. Curiously enough, according to 5 point scale of The Big Five personality test, I am .01 more conscientious than I am agreeable, so in that respect, ENTJ is valid. That .01 percent changed one letter because my traits are extremely high.

It was a fun test! Go take it!

The 16 personalities test

 

Love personality science? You might like my other posts:

Can your Birth Name really Predict your Future and Personality? (Numerology)

Self-described “empaths” blogging in the real world

 

